Downtown Calgary

About The CDA

What is the Calgary Downtown Association?

The Calgary Downtown Association (CDA) is a Business Improvement Area established under Alberta’s Municipal Government Act and represents over 2,500 businesses in a 120 block area in the city centre.
This area comprises over 50 million square feet of office, hotel, retail, restaurant, entertainment, attractions, cultural and government buildings.
The Association was formed as a result of a petition by Downtown businesses in November 1988.  It is funded primarily by a levy on the business taxes paid by Downtown businesses. (The CDA’s levy is the lowest in Calgary.)

Our Vision

Spearheading prosperity for Downtown businesses by intentionally shaping the character of Calgary.

Our Mission

Community leader generating dynamic spaces, places, and integrated communities.

A Business Improvement Area (BIA) is a group of businesses in a defined geographical area that come together to improve and promote their businesses. Some of the BIA roles include:

  • Enhancing the economic development of an area through promotion and marketing.
  • Improving the physical environment of public spaces in commercial areas.
  • Working collaboratively with The City in delivery of municipal services in their zones.
  • Advocating for policies and practices that support economic vitality in their zones.

Our Board of Directors (2021)

The Calgary Downtown Association is governed by a twelve-member Board of Directors comprised of ratepayers elected for 3 year terms at the Annual General Meeting held every spring. Originally Councillors representing Ward 7 and 8 had representation on the board, however, the Councillors ceased to participate at the board level in 2003.

All board members must be members in good standing with City of Calgary Taxation and the Calgary Downtown Association. They are nominated by a minimum of five business representatives within the Calgary Downtown Associations boundaries.

Eileen Stan, Chair of the Board
Matco Investments Ltd/Matco Development Corp.

Mark Ashton, Vice Chair
360 Energy Liability Management

Paul Bazay, Director
Sajak & Farki

Ramona Biggar, Director
Brookfield Properties

Jeff Daniels, Director
Chair, Public Relations & Activations Committee
Tourism Calgary

Colton Lewis, Director
CLEO Energy Corp.

Matt Luik, Director
Chair, Audit & Finance Committee
WSP Canada Inc.

Katherine Rubin, Director
Chair, People & Governance Committee
Field LLP

Alex Sarian, Director
Arts Commons

Tyler Varga, Director
ARC Financial Corp.

Become part of the community

We want to help the businesses of Downtown Calgary and share their vision. Register your business to join the growing community of the Downtown Calgary BIA.

Register your businessArrow Right

Be the first to know

Get the latest on events and what’s happening downtown, right in your inbox!